Karmen

I just wanted to say how awesome my wife is. She is a great person, just a truly decent human being, and she makes me a better man. If it was not for her, I would be a self-absorbed doofus (well, more of a doofus than I am now) with a million more sharp edges than I have now (and I still have plenty). Karmen softens me. She smooths out the thorny parts. She is the reason why anybody likes me at all. And when I get all self-absorby which I too often do, she helps set me back straight. I don’t like it when she does that, and too often I give her a bit hell for it, but in the end she knows what she is doing and smooths me out again.

She is lovely, just beautiful. I am lucky that she saw something in me. I probably deserve someone with more warts and thorns, not the beauty that she posseses. And now that she is getting tan, she is actually quite hot (although she may get skin cancer as I am prone to telling her). Her beauty really does catch me off guard at times, taking my breath away.

She puts up with all my junk. Some of that junk is my not so soft personality and my not so soft communication style and my apparent cluelessness about the finer points of interpersonal communication. She puts up with my triathlon junk, even willing to be dragged all over the country for my races. She puts up with the money that I put into my triathlon junk. She puts up with all the other stuff that I tend to get caught up doing. Sometimes I try to do so much all the time that I just don’t sit and do nothing, and she puts up with that.

She teaches me. How to be quiet. How to rest. How to know God better. How to communicate better. How to be more humble. How to be a better dad. How to love her better. How to be nicer to people. How to be courageous. How to love my boys better.

I really do not think I would be nearly as well off as I am in this without Karmen there to love me, and teach me, and lead me, and support me. I need her more than anything else in my life. I am grateful for all she does for me. I love her.

4 responses to “Karmen

  1. What a nice post! I think she’s pretty cool, too. :-)

  2. I’m not sure what to say. you just made me cry. thank you for saying such nice things about me, doug. i’m not sure that i am really all that you have described me to be, but i’m glad you think so. you’ve had to ‘put up’ with plenty from my end, too. thank you for supporting my desire to grow and develop….and thank you for growing and changing along with me. actually, i’m not sure which of us started this journey that we are on, but i’m glad we’re on it together.

    BTW….i’m not the only reason people like you! there are lots of reasons why someone would think you are great.

    Love you, too.

  3. Wowza. And in a very good way :)

  4. ahhhh, how sweet. we hill’s think she’s pretty awesome too.
    i couldn’t have asked for a better friend!

Leave a Reply

