My First Time – Wow!

No. Not that. Get your mind out of the gutter. What I mean is, The Matrix. I just finished watching it for the first time. That makes me some sort of nerd I know. Of what sort, I’m not sure. But some sort. Anyway, it seems that there is too much to say about it. Where does a person even start? It is an amazing movie with all sorts of philosophy, religion, commentary on humanity. I’m floored. It will take awhile to process it. I may have to watch it a few more times.

I’ll just put up my most memorable line for commentary from everyone. I just don’t know what to say. Maybe the most amazing movie I have ever seen.

Morpheus to Neo: “Neo, sooner or later you’re going to realize just as I did that there’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path.”

13 responses to “My First Time – Wow!

  1. Doug

    I have never completely watched that movie. So I might get it this weekend to have some discourse with you. Heres a good quote from Joseph Campbell that kind of relates to the one you posted.

    “You enter the forest at the darkest point, where there is no path. Where there is a way or a path, it is someone else’s path. You are not on your own path. If you follow someone else’s way, you are not going to realize your potential.”

  2. holy sh*t?! you just now saw it?!?!?! John hasn’t completely seen it?!?!?! WTF!

    it’s my fave movie of ALL TIME! it’s brilliant.

    i can only show you the door, you must walk through it: http://whatisthematrix.warnerbros.com/rl_cmp/new_phil_fr_intro.html

    so which pill would you take? the red or the blue?

  3. I’ve never seen this movie at all, nor am I likely to do so. I’m just not much into watching movies. I grew up with books, no movies, no TV, and I have to admit I’ve never developed any great interest in either of the later two. I last went to a movie theater in 1988, Honolulu Hawaii. Couldn’t tell you a thing about it since I slept through most of it!

    John, I disagree with your quote. Many people have lived before us and blazed trails already. To think that they knew nothing and that only we can know anything seems quite arrogant. I have no doubt that most of the time my steps will be on well-trodden paths. They just will not be lock steps. I may wander from side to side, cross over from one path to another, fall into a few pot holes, and perhaps help bridge a few washouts. Maybe I’ll help pave over a few rough spots and maybe I’ll help tear up some pavement in an effort to green up the place a bit. Who knows? I’m just not big on the idea of individualism is where it’s at. And of course you already knew that!

  4. Well this is a very interesting little item we have exposed within our little group. As it turns out, I am not as much of a nerd as I thought as I seem to be in good company with Yael and John. However, with John, I am not sure how you don’t “completely” watch a movie like The Matrix. With something that involves say Hannah Montana, perfectly understandable. But The Matrix. Come on. Also, however, with Yael, she seems to be closed off to the occasional significant value of and sheer enjoyment of the talking box or the moving screen. All of which leads to question how good my company actually is. Or was since I have now entered the fold of those who at least are beginning to understand what The Matrix holds. But then there is the other end of the line with Luke apparently suffering a seizure when he discovered the truth about the three of us and dropping a bomb of potty language of which this blog has never seen the likes, I’m a little uncertain about the side of the company on which I now find myself. Our only hope at this point, as I see it, as for Jason to add some sense to the mayhem. And I will search for answers in Reloaded.

  5. I, as always, find that the middle ground contains the greatest volume of truth. It is true that if you are always following the path before you, you will not often find yourself in a place of freedom and will instead find yourself in and amongst all the other sheep. However, there is little value in always carving your own path, always doing that which is contrarian, just for its own sake. Sometimes the path is well worn because trial and error has time and again shown that this way is the best way. But sometimes the path is well worn just because all the sheep walked the same way to the slaughter. The trick is having the wisdom to follow the efficient parts of the worn path and then to jump off and cut a new trail when you find yourself within the mindless mass.

  6. ” Luke apparently suffering a seizure when he discovered the truth about the three of us and dropping a bomb of potty language of which this blog has never seen the likes,”

    ;-D

    just sticking to what i’m good at! i get a little excited when the BEST MOVIE EVER MADE is mentioned. just say’n.

  7. societyvs

    I loved the matrix also – must of seen it about 7 times in my life (it’s like Star Wars to me in some ways)…loved the film…when I forst saw it I thought it was the nest movie I had ever seen also…philosophical and meaningful.

    What always stood out to me was the idea of perspective in it. There is this fake world and the real one – and the fake one is something we all want to believe exists – but the real one is where a lot of work has to be done to make it look good. We are what we percieve ourselves to be.

  8. Doug,

    You hang with a motley crew….maybe you should reconsider your group name.

    -karmen :o)

  9. societyvs

    Hey Dougie – where is your e-mail address that I can send my address to?

  10. Hey sweet girl. Interesting. “Motley Crew” is certainly and option. Or maybe “Motley Canon.”

  11. But isn’t one of the messages in The Matrix also that we are not what we perceive ourselves to be? It seems that both messages are there. Sure, if you experience it then it is real to you. But, doesn’t the movie push us to consider that maybe this isn’t the case. Maybe just because we experience something, that doesn’t make it truth.

    Take schizophrenics. They may perceive themselves to be a secret CIA agent who receives information via TV and radio. But that doesn’t make it true. It may be reality to them, but the rest of us can plainly see that it is not the common reality that the rest of us share. The Matrix takes it a step further and suggests that maybe this common reality that we all seem to share is itself also not real. Maybe we are all being duped. This seems very close to the famous “Doubt” presented by Descartes.

  12. societyvs

    “The Matrix takes it a step further and suggests that maybe this common reality that we all seem to share is itself also not real.” (Doug)

    True! Because it is not! We create the common reality and can actually shape and shift it as we see fit to do so. Now although we are being ‘duped’ – we are only being duped by ourselves and what we percieve is our limit to ‘create’. I could be wrong – being a ‘free will’ kinda thinker.

    But I like that – what we see is not always the case is it?

  13. Doug,

    Welcome to the real world.

    Morpheus

Leave a Reply

