“Religiously”

Had one of those little light bulb epiphanies today. As I was working with a resident, we were talking about a diabetic woman who is on A LOT of insulin yet her diabetes is not ideally controlled. One of the ways in which that scenario can occur is if something is not taking their insulin as honestly as they tell you they are taking it. So you have to pry a bit deeper and get people to open up a bit. In our discussion, we talked about and used the phrasology, “Is she taking it ‘religiously.'” As soon as I said it my mind saw the irony. I was using and we collectively use that term, “religiously,” to mean that someone is following the rules to the last letter. Wow! That’s a massive Freudian slip on all of us. Religion is the fortress that is supposed to free us and yet it is the veil that binds us to the rules. How warped is that?

You have just been the beneficiary of my shortest post ever in my history of posting.

4 responses to ““Religiously”

  1. “Religion” is used lots of way.
    We can’t discover what Religion IS, no more than we can discover what “chair” IS since both , like the words themselves, are human creations.
    I wrote this post wrestling with a “syndrome” definition of the word “Religion” — since you are in the medical field, you may find it interesting.

    So, when you say, “Religion … is supposed to free us …” I disagree. Again, Religion does lots of things. The thing is, YOU want it to do certain things. I think my syndrome definition catches some of it. I’d be curious how you’d improve that definition.

    Religion, for many, many people has large conservative function — it says, “look, the following are sacred and must not be questioned or broken” — it is by making them sacred that preservation takes place. It is a very cleverly evolved trick on the mind.

    You may want it different than that, but that is certainly part of the normal picture, I think.

    I get your point but in an ironic agreeing sort of way I am going to stick with that “warped” use of the world “religiously” because it indeed does illustrates one of the undesirable sides of religion.

  2. “I was using and we collectively use that term, “religiously,” to mean that someone is following the rules to the last letter” (Doug)

    Are you sure it’s following the idea to the last of the letter or a timing thing? I use the term once and a while also and I usually mean it in the sense something they do on a ‘regular basis’.

    For example, if someone always has a coffee in the morning – I could ask ‘has such and such person went for their coffee this morning, you know they do it religiously?’.

  3. Douglas and Karmen Lewis

    That’s a great point. Of course we probably use that word in myriad of ways to mean different things. I probably do that too and will pay attention to it to see if that is the case. In this instance though, my meaning was following the rules to the last letter. Thanks for hanging in there with me, Jason, during this super busy time.

  4. Hats off to you. Great, short, post!

Leave a Reply

